I’ll Play their Game

I’ll play their game until the end

She told herself in the morning

I’ll play their game which makes no sense

She told herself in the evening

I’ll play their game to propel myself forward

She tells herself each day

For I cannot settle and deny myself the reward

She confessed in the mirror

So I’ll play and play until I win

It might be their game, their rules, their scoreboard

She announces decisively

But the choice is mine

Thus I am both the player and the referee

This game is mine, so watch me play

This game is mine, and I perfect it everyday

You’re on my turf now, the rules have changed

You might have been experts, but today we have taken the stage

B’s Poetry Challenge #12

Leave a Reply

