Middle Seat

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Middle Seat.”

It turns out that your neighbor on the plane/bus/train (or the person sitting at the next table at the coffee shop) is a very, very chatty tourist. Do you try to switch seats, go for a non-committal brief small talk, or make this person your new best friend?

This prompt reminds me of a particular plane ride. I was on my way back from Beirut and the woman sitting next to me was an Egyptian returning home after a 20+ year absence. She was an elderly highly talkative woman, who spent nearly the entire flight conversing with me and my friend. Out of respect I engaged in conversation, but I was not enjoying the experience. In general, I’m the kind of person who would rather have a quiet trip on whichever kind of public transportation I’m on, preferring to listen to music or read rather than talk.

One thought on “Middle Seat

Leave a Reply

