Queen of Procrastination

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Obstacle Course.”

Think about what you wanted to accomplish last week. Did you? What are the things that hold you back from doing everything you’d like to do?

Procrastination Quote - Thomas Jefferson

My version of the above quote is as follows: “Why do today what can be done tomorrow, or next week, or next year, or NEVER” – Queen of Procrastination

I have granted myself this esteemed titled, which was approved by my friends and family, because I always leave everything to the last possible minute. There are three reasons why this happens:

  1. Because I’m overwhelmed with the amount of work I need to complete
  2. Because I’m uninterested in the work I need to do
  3. Because I’m distracted or just lazy

I’ve learned to work well under pressure when I was an undergrad, usually as a result of procrastination. But now that the years of papers and deadlines are behind me, I have less of a reason to pressure myself. I put estimated deadlines to encourage/pressure myself to work within a particular time-frame, but because I know that not meeting these deadlines will have no consequences of any kind I’m less inclined to follow them. As a result I keep postponing things. I’ve been editing a novella I wrote two years ago and had planned on finishing it by the end of the summer. I’ve worked hard on editing it and then once I had more things on my plate, I simply put it aside. I have 5 out of 27 chapters left and for some reason I couldn’t bring myself to work on them. So my novella is left incomplete in a taunting file on my computer.

References: Ranting, Ranting II, Ranting III, Ranting V, End of the Semester (Terrorism)

2 thoughts on “Queen of Procrastination

Leave a Reply

