Fictional Future

It’s no secret that I have always been a fan of fiction, be it as a written literary work or a motion picture. Delving into a world that is not real is appealing to me. While I enjoy more realistic fiction to fantasy or science-fiction, the fact the events have not and probably would not happen in reality is a comfort. I immerse myself in the character’s lives to the extent that I forget about my own life, which I guess is the whole point. However this is quite dangerous, because after a while you start to forget that you owe reality a lot.

It’s easy to escape from the worries and troubles and doubts that life hands you. But the more you run away the further you are from dealing with them. What I’m saying is not new; it has been said thousands of times. But I’m talking about myself, about how for the past year I ignored my future and pretended like it will sort itself out without me needing to do anything. I lost myself. For over a month now I’ve done something even worse, I put my passions aside. I stopped writing, stopped imagining, just stopped!

But I’m hoping all of this will change soon. I’m hoping that I will wake up and throw myself back into my work. Start creating again. I need to stop running away and start focusing on my future once more.

 

Song of the Week: Sara Bareilles – Brave  

Leave a Reply

