Reading

Reading for the sake of reading, unfortunately isn’t something I get to do that often. I usually need to read textbooks during the academic year, which I’m almost always behind on, so I don’t have time to sit and read a good novel. It’s therefore a blessing, when I do get the time to do that. For me, winter break is usually the best time to read. Being under a blanket with a good book is both cozy and relaxing.  I find it to the best and most rewarding past time; this not, however how I felt when I was younger.

As a child I was always encouraged to read by my parents and my teachers. I, however, didn’t care that much for it. Why should I spend my summer vacation reading when that’s all I’m doing all year, and when I could be swimming or watching TV. But every once in a while I would pick up book especially, since I was pushed to consider reading as a hobby not merely an obligation. I joined the public library, at one point, and went to the book fair every year with my sister and my parents. By the age of eleven or twelve reading had become a growing hobby in my life. By fourteen/fifteen it had become an indispensable aspect in my life. In high school I started studying and analyzing literature, which made me fall in love with reading. Looking back at those days makes me miss studying literature in school, something I unfortunately don’t get the chance to do much of in college.

Now, independent reading has become something I look forward to. I can’t wait for the vacation, because it gives me the time to read. I also love buying books, much more than borrowing books from a library. I not only like to own the book, but I also love the feeling of holding a brand new book in my hand. Ever since I’ve been in college I’ve bought more books, with my own money, than any other time in my life. That is due to convenience. The bookshop is a brisk walk away; some people might disagree to that comment since it is in fact on the other side of campus. But I’ve never minded walking all the way to the bookstore; in fact I do that when I have a long gap merely to kill some time. I walk straight to the classic books section, because nowadays that’s all I read. I mean you need to read the classics, after all they’re the true masterpieces that make you fall in love with reading and can even encourage you to write.

One thought on “Reading

  1. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it is truly informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future. Lots of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

