Dilemma 5 (Can I Have Your Attention Please)

She switched off the light and rested her head on the pillow, while her dog lied silently next to her. But even though the room was pitch black, her eyes remained open and her mind was wide awake. She began remembering her life and how it was like just a few years earlier.

“Anyone who has ever known me for a long time knows that I was never the girl that all the guys throw themselves at, in fact I was the exact opposite of that. I never had a boyfriend before the age of 18, which many people would consider rather odd. But suddenly all the boys recognize me now, not the same boys I was talking about before, but things had changed in that area significantly. It’s possible that some of the reasons that happened are because I started taking care of myself; I’ve become more confident and more comfortable in my own skin.

I spent the entire night hanging out with these two guys, one of whom I’ve known for some time now the other I just met. Either way I had their full and undivided attention. And that’s the point I’m trying to make that now I can easily get the boys’ attention. However it’s now always the ones whose attention I actually want. I had a great time with those guys tonight, but as for things between me and him they’re still stagnant.

I asked him out about a week after he told me he missed me, but first he didn’t realize I was asking him out. And second he made the worst excuse ever for why he won’t be able to go out with me that day. He said and I quote “My friend is leaving in like a month, so I want to spend as much time with him as possible because he won’t be back for a year.” Someone please explain to me what the hell kind of an excuse is that; honestly his friend couldn’t spare him for a couple of hours. I have no idea what this thing between us is or if there is even a thing at this point. I tried to bring this topic up when I spoke with him on the phone earlier today, but I honestly couldn’t have that conversation over the phone. Anyway the more I think about this the more I get confused and the more my head hurts.”

But even with all those thought running around in her head, she tried her best to give her brain a rest and get some sleep; after all she still had a long day ahead of her tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

