The Last Song

Yesterday I decided to watch The Last Song starring Miley Cyrus, Greg Kinnear & Liam Hemsworth, mostly because I had nothing better to do with my day. Even though the decision was quite an embarrassing one, since it is Miley Cyrus after all, I don’t regret it. It was a mediocre movie about a girl and her brother from New York who are shipped Georgia to stay with their father for the summer. Ronnie (Cyrus) is a rebellious teenager who pushed people away, especially her father whom she is very angry with because she feels he’d abandoned her after her parent’s divorce. She then befriends a dark and troubled girl, much like herself, who has an abusive boyfriend. Ronnie also gets a boyfriend out of her stay in Georgia and returns to her true passion in life, playing the piano.

The storyline is average, but overall the movie was not bad. What bothered me though wasn’t the story or the acting which was ok; it was Miley Cyrus’s accent. As an actress she’s good, I’m not saying she’ll be the next Audrey Hepburn or anything but for a teen actress playing the lead in a light movie she did well. However her accent drove me crazy; she has a very heavy southern accent that is just annoying. I would like you to imagine a farmer from Texas, no offence, but that’s exactly how she sounds; like nails screeching on a chalkboard.

However, what interested me the most, in this movie were two parts that I don’t think many people would take any notice of: the part where she was protecting the sea-turtle eggs from the raccoons and the part when she & her boyfriend were diving in the aquarium. The first I found to be very touching, but maybe that’s just me, I’m an animal lover so I find any act of compassion towards an animal quite touching.  I personally would love to learn how to dive, I think it would be thrilling and exhilarating, that’s why I thought the diving scene was entertaining.

I like the idea of exploring the deep sea and uncovering its wonders. Or just swimming around with the fish, it’s very liberating and adventurous and quite dangerous if you’re not careful I’m aware. But still it is on my list of things have to try or just really want to do in general; this list also includes going to Barcelona and admiring the ceiling in the Sistine Chapel; actually go there and look up at Michelangelo’s extraordinary creation. Back to the topic at hand, diving, seeing fish in their natural habitat not through glass in a boat or an aquarium. Exploring the sea even if I’m still relatively close to the surface is more rewarding for me than just watching the fish while I swim at the surface; it would make me feel like I’m a part of the sea, a part of nature.

Leave a Reply

